VIDEO: Matthieu Ricard: How to let altruism be your guide

Saturday, May 12, 201812:16 AM(View: 3506)
VIDEO: Matthieu Ricard: How to let altruism be your guide
This is a great viewpoint on "What is altruism" 
 
In this talk, "Altruism is defined as the wish that other people may be happy. And, says Matthieu Ricard, a happiness researcher and a Buddhist monk, altruism is also a great lens for making decisions, both for the short and long term, in work and in life."


Send comment
Your Name
Your email address
Thursday, November 28, 2019(View: 4352)
Being a weekday vegetarian is beneficial for the environment and humane for the animals.
Sunday, August 18, 2019(View: 4616)
Meatless Monday is a great concept. It is a simple commitment that yields big impact.
Thursday, June 6, 2019(View: 3200)
The lack of a self-centernedness egohood allows one to see outwards and be universally compassionate.--ZenMoon
Thursday, June 6, 2019(View: 2867)
"Why do these things happen? One possibility is that generosity among strangers can be socially contagious."
Wednesday, January 23, 2019(View: 2436)
A plant-based diet is indeed a compassionate choice for our health, our planet, and for animals. This TED talk is very meaningful.
Tuesday, December 25, 2018(View: 2527)
A very idealistic solution for ending poverty.
Saturday, October 20, 2018(View: 1625)
The race to create man-made meat. Lab-grown meat is beneficial to all creatures.
Monday, August 6, 2018(View: 4286)
So much of the food supply is shamefully wasted. "Tristram Stuart delves into the shocking data of wasted food, calling for a more responsible use of global resources."
Monday, July 23, 2018(View: 4306)
This is an interesting proposal. "Technology allows us to give cash directly to the poorest people on the planet. Should we do it?"
Thursday, June 28, 2018(View: 2741)
Not wasting food is the first step to fight world hunger and climate change.
Monday, March 5, 2018(View: 2467)
An interesting TED talk on why the nonprofits sector should be allowed to operate in the similar manners as the for-profits sector, so that charity and philanthropy may thrive.
Monday, February 12, 2018(View: 4514)
This is a very inspirational talk on sustainable design. Treated bamboo has great potential as a sustainable green timber source for imaginative architecture design.
Sunday, February 4, 2018(View: 2104)
Kindness and compassion are the cornerstone of humanity and the foundation for positive transformation.
Wednesday, January 24, 2018(View: 3643)
Compassion is the foundation of humanity. All lives are valuable and precious. We should do our part to help others from suffering.
Monday, January 22, 2018(View: 3497)
I really enjoyed this talk, thus I am re-sharing it. A great TED talk on appreciating our gift of the present. Strive to live each moment with meaning and purpose.