VIDEO: Matthieu Ricard: How to let altruism be your guide

Saturday, May 12, 201812:16 AM(View: 4299)
VIDEO: Matthieu Ricard: How to let altruism be your guide
This is a great viewpoint on "What is altruism" 
 
In this talk, "Altruism is defined as the wish that other people may be happy. And, says Matthieu Ricard, a happiness researcher and a Buddhist monk, altruism is also a great lens for making decisions, both for the short and long term, in work and in life."


Send comment
Your Name
Your email address
Friday, November 27, 2020(View: 55)
Please help us reach our goal so we can continue our mission. Your contribution is fully tax deductible with the IRS. On December 1, FaceBook will match each contribution dollar for dollar. Thank you.
Monday, September 28, 2020(View: 3919)
The race to create man-made meat. Lab-grown meat is beneficial to all creatures.
Monday, May 4, 2020(View: 7768)
This is a very inspirational talk on sustainable design. Treated bamboo has great potential as a sustainable green timber source for imaginative architecture design.
Tuesday, February 25, 2020(View: 4279)
A plant-based diet is indeed a compassionate choice for our health, our planet, and for animals. This TED talk is very meaningful.
Thursday, November 28, 2019(View: 5186)
Being a weekday vegetarian is beneficial for the environment and humane for the animals.
Sunday, August 18, 2019(View: 6215)
Meatless Monday is a great concept. It is a simple commitment that yields big impact.
Thursday, June 6, 2019(View: 5029)
The lack of a self-centernedness egohood allows one to see outwards and be universally compassionate.--ZenMoon
Thursday, June 6, 2019(View: 3589)
"Why do these things happen? One possibility is that generosity among strangers can be socially contagious."
Tuesday, December 25, 2018(View: 4198)
A very idealistic solution for ending poverty.
Monday, August 6, 2018(View: 5331)
So much of the food supply is shamefully wasted. "Tristram Stuart delves into the shocking data of wasted food, calling for a more responsible use of global resources."
Monday, July 23, 2018(View: 5129)
This is an interesting proposal. "Technology allows us to give cash directly to the poorest people on the planet. Should we do it?"
Thursday, June 28, 2018(View: 4355)
Not wasting food is the first step to fight world hunger and climate change.
Monday, March 5, 2018(View: 3240)
An interesting TED talk on why the nonprofits sector should be allowed to operate in the similar manners as the for-profits sector, so that charity and philanthropy may thrive.
Sunday, February 4, 2018(View: 3224)
Kindness and compassion are the cornerstone of humanity and the foundation for positive transformation.
Wednesday, January 24, 2018(View: 4387)
Compassion is the foundation of humanity. All lives are valuable and precious. We should do our part to help others from suffering.