VIDEO: Tanka: An Animated Vision of the Tibetan Book of the Dead

Sunday, February 4, 20188:53 PM(View: 470)
VIDEO: Tanka: An Animated Vision of the Tibetan Book of the Dead
"TANKA means, literally, “a thing rolled up”. This short film, TANKA, photographed from Tibetan scroll paintings of the sixteenth to nineteenth centuries, is a cyclical vision of ancient gods and demons, an animated journey through the image world of the Tibetan Book of the Dead."
Send comment
Your Name
Your email address
Monday, August 13, 2018(View: 988)
Overall, this lecture does a good job on presenting the Buddhist concept of the mind.
Monday, August 6, 2018(View: 470)
An interesting video on the Japanese Buddhist altar, a butsudan.
Friday, July 20, 2018(View: 335)
Buddhism and the artworks inspired by Buddhism
Friday, June 29, 2018(View: 1603)
A great travelogue to Dunhuang and the Mogao Caves which contains numerous Buddhist artwork and text.
Monday, June 18, 2018(View: 5334)
This is a interesting and well-written National Geographic documentary in which "Wade Davis investigates the Buddhist Science of the Mind."
Thursday, May 24, 2018(View: 1055)
An informative short video on the meanings and importances of differnet hand gestures, mudras, depicted in Buddhist art.
Sunday, May 20, 2018(View: 1093)
An informative video on Korea's rich Buddhist tradition.
Saturday, May 12, 2018(View: 6576)
This is a very fascinating documentary on the history of Buddhism in Eurasia.
Saturday, April 14, 2018(View: 1212)
Meditation has many benefits and is an essential tool to calm and clear the mind.
Monday, March 5, 2018(View: 5392)
An Interesting video on Buddhist statues as influenced by the Japanese culture.
Monday, February 26, 2018(View: 5198)
This documentary is "a journey into the hidden lives of China's forgotten Zen Buddhist hermit tradition." Whether living in an isolated hermitage or in a bustling metropolis, it is essential to recognize the Path and ultilize each life moment as an opportunity live in the Teaching.--ZenMoon
Friday, February 23, 2018(View: 3484)
The introduction of Buddhism into China from the Silk Roads. An good audio lecture on Dunhuang: Mogao Grottoes...great for listening while on-the-go.
Friday, February 23, 2018(View: 3385)
This is a great video about Getty Conservation Institute's collaborative efforts to preserve the priceless paintings on the cave walls.
Tuesday, February 13, 2018(View: 5765)
This a insightful documentary by PBS. "The Buddha - The Story of Siddhartha Gautama is a documentary for PBS by award-winning filmmaker David Grubin and narrated by Richard Gere, tells the story of the Buddha's life."
Monday, February 12, 2018(View: 4842)
A great video on the unique Korean Buddhist artworks.
Facebook twitter pinterest-24intagram-badge-24rss