VIDEO: Tanka: An Animated Vision of the Tibetan Book of the Dead

Sunday, February 4, 20188:53 PM(View: 790)
VIDEO: Tanka: An Animated Vision of the Tibetan Book of the Dead
"TANKA means, literally, “a thing rolled up”. This short film, TANKA, photographed from Tibetan scroll paintings of the sixteenth to nineteenth centuries, is a cyclical vision of ancient gods and demons, an animated journey through the image world of the Tibetan Book of the Dead."
Send comment
Your Name
Your email address
Thursday, November 29, 2018(View: 1207)
"We repeat the Karmic life cycle continuously over different lifetimes and collectively amass new life smarts and experiences to formulate our own afflicted intellectual consciousness.--ZenMoon."
Wednesday, October 24, 2018(View: 5406)
"Conrad Walters, co-author of "Journeys on the Silk Road", explains the symbolism behind the opening image of the world's oldest printed book -- the Diamond Sutra of 868AD. The illustration is, itself, the world's oldest-known image in a printed book."
Saturday, October 20, 2018(View: 5841)
"This short film, made by the International Dunhuang Project at the British Library, tells of the story of the sutra scroll, its science and its conservation."
Monday, August 13, 2018(View: 1464)
Overall, this lecture does a good job on presenting the Buddhist concept of the mind.
Monday, August 6, 2018(View: 886)
An interesting video on the Japanese Buddhist altar, a butsudan.
Friday, July 20, 2018(View: 684)
Buddhism and the artworks inspired by Buddhism
Friday, June 29, 2018(View: 1928)
A great travelogue to Dunhuang and the Mogao Caves which contains numerous Buddhist artwork and text.
Monday, June 18, 2018(View: 5692)
This is a interesting and well-written National Geographic documentary in which "Wade Davis investigates the Buddhist Science of the Mind."
Thursday, May 24, 2018(View: 1402)
An informative short video on the meanings and importances of differnet hand gestures, mudras, depicted in Buddhist art.
Sunday, May 20, 2018(View: 1436)
An informative video on Korea's rich Buddhist tradition.
Saturday, May 12, 2018(View: 6927)
This is a very fascinating documentary on the history of Buddhism in Eurasia.
Saturday, April 14, 2018(View: 1810)
Meditation has many benefits and is an essential tool to calm and clear the mind.
Monday, March 5, 2018(View: 5649)
An Interesting video on Buddhist statues as influenced by the Japanese culture.
Monday, February 26, 2018(View: 5532)
This documentary is "a journey into the hidden lives of China's forgotten Zen Buddhist hermit tradition." Whether living in an isolated hermitage or in a bustling metropolis, it is essential to recognize the Path and ultilize each life moment as an opportunity live in the Teaching.--ZenMoon
Friday, February 23, 2018(View: 3720)
The introduction of Buddhism into China from the Silk Roads. An good audio lecture on Dunhuang: Mogao Grottoes...great for listening while on-the-go.