VIDEO: Matthieu Ricard: How to let altruism be your guide

Saturday, May 12, 201812:16 AM(View: 4433)
VIDEO: Matthieu Ricard: How to let altruism be your guide
This is a great viewpoint on "What is altruism" 
 
In this talk, "Altruism is defined as the wish that other people may be happy. And, says Matthieu Ricard, a happiness researcher and a Buddhist monk, altruism is also a great lens for making decisions, both for the short and long term, in work and in life."


Send comment
Your Name
Your email address
Monday, August 6, 2018(View: 5422)
So much of the food supply is shamefully wasted. "Tristram Stuart delves into the shocking data of wasted food, calling for a more responsible use of global resources."
Friday, July 20, 2018(View: 5079)
This is an interesting proposal. "Technology allows us to give cash directly to the poorest people on the planet. Should we do it?"
Thursday, June 28, 2018(View: 1071)
Not wasting food is the first step to fight world hunger and climate change.
Sunday, May 20, 2018(View: 412)
The race to create man-made meat. Lab-grown meat is beneficial to all creatures.
Saturday, April 14, 2018(View: 5683)
Being a weekday vegetarian is beneficial for the environment and humane for the animals.
Monday, March 5, 2018(View: 3281)
An interesting TED talk on why the nonprofits sector should be allowed to operate in the similar manners as the for-profits sector, so that charity and philanthropy may thrive.
Monday, February 12, 2018(View: 5861)
This is a very inspirational talk on sustainable design. Treated bamboo has great potential as a sustainable green timber source for imaginative architecture design.
Sunday, February 4, 2018(View: 2146)
Kindness and compassion are the cornerstone of humanity and the foundation for positive transformation.
Friday, January 26, 2018(View: 1909)
The lack of a self-centernedness egohood allows one to see outwards and be universally compassionate.--ZenMoon
Wednesday, January 24, 2018(View: 4899)
Compassion is the foundation of humanity. All lives are valuable and precious. We should do our part to help others from suffering.
Monday, January 22, 2018(View: 4485)
A great TED talk on appreciating our gift of the present. Strive to live each moment with meaning and purpose.
Tuesday, January 16, 2018(View: 2801)
Sustainable investing can be a means for positive social changes.
Sunday, January 14, 2018(View: 1510)
What an ingenious and eco-friendly way to help others.
Monday, January 8, 2018(View: 4292)
An excellent lecture talk on how to set up an effective charity by Rob Mather, the founder of Against Malaria Foundation.
Friday, December 1, 2017(View: 4301)
This is a cheerful TED talk about how an art-inspired project can bring a community closer together. "Artists Jeroen Koolhaas and Dre Urhahn create community art by painting entire neighborhoods, and involving those who live there"
Facebook twitter pinterest-24intagram-badge-24rss